smallest logo


Have news? Contact our PR Chair.


AJHA Membership

Membership Information

Faculty & professional dues: $45/year

Student & retired faculty dues: $25/year

Dues include subscriptions to American Journalism research journal and Intelligencer newsletter.

To renew or join, please visit our new membership site.

AJHA Definition of Journalism History

For purposes of written research papers and publications, the term "journalism history" shall be seen as a continuous process, emphasizing but not necessarily confined to subjects of American mass communications. It should be viewed not in the context of perception of the current decade, but as part of a unique, significant, and time-conditioned past.

Download a copy of the AJHA Constitution


Media History Resources

Looking for something new to use in your courses or for materials to use in your research? Our Media History Resources page includes the following:

red arrowThe AJHA Teacher's Toolbox for syllabi, assignments, prompts, and other pedagogical goodies shared by AJHA members.

red arrow AJHA's Resources for Researchers page includes links both to help researchers find archives as well as direct links to primary materials.

2014 Convention Highlights

We had a great time in St. Paul. Enjoy these photos of presentations and special events at our 33rd annual convention.

Roessner wins inaugural Rising Scholar Award

American Journalism presented Amber Roessner with the inaugural Rising Scholar Award at the convention in St. Paul, Minn.

The award was accompanied by $2,000 in research funding, which Roessner plans to use for archival and oral history research for her second book on President Jimmy Carter’s historic run for office in 1976.

The Rising Scholar Award recognizes the achievements and potential of an untenured scholar.

Read more about the award here.

Roessner recently interviewed President Carter for her book.

AJHA convention award winners

Leonard Teel received the Sidney Kobre Award.

Bernell Tripp received the AJHA National Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Beth Kaszuba received the Margaret A. Blanchard Prize (director: Ford Risley).

Carol Sue Humphrey received the AJHA Book Award.

Amy Aronson and Tim Vos received the Best American Journalism Article Award.

Michael Martinez and Roger Mellen received Joseph McKerns research grants.

Nineteen scholars received research paper awards.

Questions or comments: AJHA webmaster
2014 last updated: December 2014



Read the Winter 2014 issue.

AJHA YouTube

AJHA has a new YouTube channel. In addition to the convention photo slideshow, you'll find the full president's address and the Local Journalist Award speech. More content coming soon. Subscribe now!

See you in OKC

Plan now to attend the 34th Annual AJHA Convention, Oct. 8-10, 2015 at the Skirvin Hotel in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Deadline to submit original research papers, panel proposals, and research in progress abstracts will be May 15. Watch for the full call in 2015.


Joint Journalism & Communication History Conference

Abstract submissions are due Jan. 7, 2015, for the Joint Journalism and Communication History Conference, co-sponsored by AJHA and AEJMC History Division. See the full call.


AEJMC History Book Award

The History Division of AEJMC is soliciting entries for its award for the best journalism and mass communication history book of 2014. Submissions are due by Feb. 15, 2015. See the full call.